In New York, if you suffer a work-related injury or illness, you can file for workers’ compensation to pay for your medical care and part of your lost wages while you’re off work. If you’re unable to recover fully, workers’ comp will also pay you permanent disability benefits, or if you need to be trained for an entirely new line of work, it will pay for vocational rehab as well.
However, when you’re injured at work, or you’re suffering from a work-related illness, there are several steps you must take to ensure that you receive your full benefits and you protect your rights. The Accident Help Zone is New York’s #1 accident and injury resource center, and we want to make sure that you have the knowledge and tools to help you through the process.
If you are injured on the job in New York, the very first thing you need to, of course, is to focus on your health. Immediately seek medical attention, and as soon as it’s safe to do so, report the incident and injury to your employer in writing. While seeking medical treatment, it’s essential to keep in mind:
While legally you have 30 days to report it to your employer, you should report it as soon as possible to help negate any skepticism from your employer or the insurance company. Not to mention that the sooner you report the workplace injury or illness, the sooner you can receive workers’ compensation benefits.
Your initial steps should be:
No matter how severe the illness or injury is, and whether or not you are considering retaining a personal injury attorney to help you through the process, there are multiple things that you should collect and document to protect yourself and your rights. As soon as it’s feasible health-wise, you should attempt to gather as much of the following as possible.
Having these copies, documents, and info can be beneficial, especially if you do end up retaining a workers’ compensation attorney. This gives the insurance company, attorneys, and the judge a better understanding of the entire scope of your case and can significantly benefit their ability to assess your claim properly.
New York’s Worker’s Compensation Insurance only covers specific things when it comes to workplace injury claims.
You also need to know that the Workers’ Compensation Law has an initial waiting period, meaning that even when you are eligible for wage replacement benefits, you will not receive any payments for the first seven calendar days of your disability.
If your disability continues and you are out of work between 8 and 14 calendar days, you may be entitled to wage replacement for the second 7 day period. However, if your disability or illness continues beyond that 14 days, you may be entitled to benefits retroactive back to that first day of your injury and loss of work.
The Accident Help Zone is proud to serve New York City and surrounding cities with comprehensive workers’ compensation and accident related resource center. Our advocates have spent countless hours researching the New York worker’s compensation system and everything related to accidents and workplace injuries in the state.
With the Accident Help Zone, you no longer have to guess at your rights or stumble your way through the New York Workers’ Compensation Law and process. We are driven to help, and we’ve gathered the resources for people exactly like you.
If you or your family member have been involved in an auto accident, injured at work, or suffered a slip & fall accident in New York or New Jersey, we invite you to explore our free comprehensive library.
Whether you need more information about filing your workers’ compensation claim or need to find an experienced doctor or personal injury lawyer, you’ve come to the right place – Accident Help Zone is here to help you and your loved ones!
The content on this site is for informational purposes and should not be considered as legal advice, medical diagnosis or treatment recommendations for your accident injuries.
Worker’s Comp & Car Accident Help Zone Copyright ©